Thursday, May 05, 2011

IRUPA Awards

Score: 1. Cian Healy & Emma Gavigan; 2. Gina Conheady, Keith Wood & Trina Galvin; 3. Rob Carney & Mary Walsh. (Leon Farrell / Photocall)

Rugby stars and supporters were out in droves for the annual Bord Gáis Energy IRUPA Awards took place in the Burlington Hotel last night. Guests included Brian O’Driscoll, Cian Healy, Rob Kearney, Jerry Flannery, Sean O'Brien, Keith Wood and new Chief Executive of IRUPA Omar Hassanein with his wife Bree.

Rugby legend Willie-John McBride and IRFU Chief Executive Philip Browne were also in attendance. Guests enjoyed a Heineken and Wolf Blass reception before the serious business of the awards ceremony. Isa Nacewa of Leinster won Player’s Player of the Year, Supporters’ Player of the Year went to Sean O’Brien, also of Leinster, while Malcolm O’Kelly was inducted into the Hall of Fame.