Monday, February 13, 2012

Meteoric: 1. Nadine O'Regan and Caghal Funge; 2. Angelica Salomao and Trish Fallon; 3. Aoife McCormack and Graham Knox. (Pix. Kieran Harnett)

Meteor celebrated the addition of the augural Irish Song of the Year category to the Meteor Choice Music Prize at a launch party in Dublin’s Doheny & Nesbitts. Some of the nominees including The Kanyu Tree, Cashier No 9, Lisa Hannigan and This Club took to the stage to perform their nominated songs and some additional tracks.

The Irish Song of the Year competition will see 10 of Ireland’s favourite songs from the past year compete to take home the title of Meteor Choice Music Prize Irish Song of the Year 2011. The shortlisted acts include: Bell X1 – Velcro, Cashier No 9 – Goldstar, The Coronas - Addicted to Progress, Lisa Hannigan – Knots, The Kanyu Tree – Radio, Little Green Cars - The John Wayne, Royseven - We Should be Lovers, Maverick Sabre - Let Me Go, Snow Patrol - Called Out In the Dark and This Club - I Won’t Worry.

The winning entry will be awarded the Meteor Choice Music Prize Irish Song of the Year Trophy along with a prize fund. Vote online at

Spotted at the launch party was Michelle O’Doherty, Graham Knox from The Corona’s, 2FM’s Ruth Scott and Jenny Huston and Louise Duffy from Today FM. It was an extra special night for RoySeven’s Paul Walsh who celebrated his birthday on the night with a candle lit birthday cake!