Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Champagne Supernova

Sparkle: 1. Miriam O’Callaghan; 2. Chris O’Dowd; 3. Kathryn Thomas. (Pix. Anthony Woods)

Moët & Chandon, the world’s leading champagne house, this year added some extra sparkle to the 9th Annual Irish Film & Television Awards as the official Green Room sponsor. Champagne flowed for guests including international film and TV stars including Dana Delany, Charlene McKenna, Amy Huberman, Chris O’Dowd, Stephen Rea, AJ Buckley, Laura Whitmore, Ryan Tubridy, Bressie and many more.

On the night Irish crime-drama Love/Hate took home seven awards including IFTAs for Best Drama, Best Director David Caffrey and Writer TV Stuart Carolan. Winning big in the film categories, The Guard also received the IFTA for Best Film, with writer/director John Michael McDonagh named Best Director, Best Screenwriter and the Irish Film Board Rising Star for his feature directorial debut.

President of Ireland Michael D. Higgins presented veteran Irish actress Fionnula Flanagan with the IFTA Lifetime Achievement Award, and she received a standing ovation from the 1,400 strong audience at Dublin’s CCD. In addition, the actress took home a second IFTA statuette for her supporting role in the Irish feature film The Guard.

During the evening, Moët also invited all the A-list celebrities and guests to autograph a 15-litre Nebuchadnezzar bottle, which will now be auctioned off for charity. This is a now legendary cinema tradition that Moët began decades ago at iconic film festivals and awards around the globe and stars who have previously participated include Morgan Freeman, Diane Kruger, Eva Longoria and Adrian Brody.