Monday, January 24, 2011

The Gooseberries

Gooseberries: 1. Barbara McCarthy & Paddy Cullivan; 2. Madeline Mulqueen; 3. Sami Long & Adam Elligott.

The Meteor Awards have been canceled this year, but all is not lost! Ireland’s most quirky awards ceremony, the highly sought after Gooseberries were back with a bang! Homage to the Hollywood Raspberry Awards, this glittering event celebrated the worst in Irish music and media in 2010 as voted for by the public.

And the winners are:

1. Worst Irish Act - Crystal Swing
2. Worst Irish Ad - Bertie Ahern in News of The World
3. Worst Irish Radio DJ - Neil Prendeville
4. Worst Irish TV Programe - Fade St
5. Worst Irish Single - "He Drinks Tequila" Crystal Swing
6. Worst Irish Album - "Planet Jedward"
7. Worst Irish TV Host - Ray Foley
8. Worst Irish Concert - Guns n Roses @ The O2
9. Worst Irish Publication - News of The World
10. Worst Irish Journalist - Bertie Ahern

Poor Crystal Swing! But it’s not all bad. This year, for the first time ever two very special ‘Gooseberry for being Great’ awards were presented. Comedian David MacSavage picked up his special award on the night while The Rubberbandits and received a special award for their trojan work last year.