Friday, May 11, 2012

Lit Hit

Write Stuff: 1. Joan Garahy & Amb Madame Emmanuelle d’Achon; 2. Marianela Gonzalez & Edward O'Dwyer; 3. Marc Boissonnet & Tara Quirke.  (Pix. Kieran Harnett)

Last night, Tuesday, 24th April, Hennessy announced the winners of this year’s Hennessy Literary Awards at a ceremony in the French Ambassador’s Residence. For the last 41 years the Hennessy Literary Awards has recognized and rewarded emerging Irish writers and poets in the literary sphere. The winners on the night were Barbara Tarrant, ‘Baby’ (First Fiction), Niamh Boyce, ‘Kitty’ (Emerging Poetry) and Viv McDade, ‘Leaving For Chile’(Emerging Fiction).

A host of specially invited guests from the worlds of literature and the arts enjoyed the writing of some of Ireland’s brightest new authors and poets. Guests enjoyed a selection of delicious Hennessy cocktails paired with canapés, including Hennessy Rose with Braised Leek and Bellingham Blue Tart and Hennessy Maple Spice paired with Vietnamese Vegetarian Spring Roll with Mint and Tamari.

Caroline Sleiman, Market Development Manager for Moët Hennessy was joined by a host of guests on the evening including H.E. Emmanuelle D'Achon, the French Ambassador. Judges Ciaran Carty, Giles Foden and Deirdre Purcell were joined by last year’s winner Siobhan Mannion and past New Irish Writing page editor Anthony Glavin.  Other guests present included well known Irish economist David McWilliams, Irish comic Kevin Gildea, Marc Boissonnet, Ambassadeur de la Maison Hennessy and Master of Ceremonies John Kelly.